WCAG 2.0, 2.1 - Everything You Need to Know In Plain English

Download below.

Online accessibility is an absolute must in today’s digital world. One and 5 people experience some sort of permanent or temporary disability with either vision, hearing or motion. Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 and 2.1 are spelled out in the WCAG 2.1 mandates, however while going through - we found it difficult to fully understand. Therefore, we created an e-book that explains these WCAG guidelines in “plain English” making web accessibility standards … well, accessible and easy to understand while defining the various A, AA, and AAA levels of WCAG.

What is WCAG, Section 508 and ADA's goal?

WCAG and Section 508 have the same goal: to make electronic and information technology accessible to people with disabilities with standards for compliance. Compliance includes Technical, Functional and Support standards.

  • WCAG 2.0 and 2.1 are formal guidelines for how to develop web content so it is accessible for all. They are a higher level of compliancey than Section 508.
  • Section 508 is from The U.S. Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and mandates the federal government procure, create, use and maintain information and technology that is accessible to people with disabilities, regardless of whether or not they work for the federal government. Section 508 includes WCAG 2.0 standards.
  • The Americans with Disabilities Act or the ADA guidelines do not cover the internet. The ADA defers to WCAG 2.0 and 2.1 as acceptable accessibility standards for the internet.

Why Website Accessibility and Do I Need to Be Compliant?

It's the Right Thing to do. Information should be accessible to all people.

It sends a message about your brand, your organization and what matters to you.

Decrease Risk and Legal Liability.

There is an uptick in legal action for organization’s websites that do not meet accessibility guidelines. Minimizing your risk is attainable.

For Awareness.

The aging Baby Boomer generation is almost 40% of the nations population and unfortunately there are many others experiencing temporary disabilities with long recovery times.

Download Below

Do I Really Need a Developer?

There are three levels of conformance with WCAG - Level A (lowest level), AA (mid level) and AAA (highest level). The AAA level includes the requirements from preceeding levels. Someone with savy skills and basic HTML could likely accomplish some of the Level A requirements. The AA and AAA levels require a bit more familiarity and HTML skills.

How Can I Help?

Help to raise awareness on web accessibility for all and why it matters. This free WCAG e-book resource is a good place to get started. Complete the from above to receive your download.
P.O. Box 761236 | San Antonio, TX 78245 | Phone: 210.771.5809 | Fax: 210.247.9681 | info@dftm.org